Recognition Programs

Collapse All Expand All

Bene Merenti and Loyola Awards

The annual Fall Convocation takes place in the beginning of the fall semester and recognizes employees receiving Bene Merenti and Loyola Awards, among other things.

  • Bene Merenti: Employees achieving 20 years of service by September 1 of the current year will be recognized with the Bene Merenti award
  • Loyola Award: Employees achieving 40 years of service by Setpember 1 of the current year be recognized the Loyola award​

Service milestones are recognized for the following years of (full-time) services:

  • 1 year, 5 years, 10 years, 15 years, 20 years, 25 years, 30 years, 35 years, etc.

Employees reaching a service milestone will be notified and congratulated via email.  They will have the opportunity to share their response to one or both of the following questions which will be featured in the Dolphin Digest:

  • "What's the best part of Le Moyne?"
  • "What's your fondest memory of your time at Le Moyne?"

These two awards are presented at Fall Convocation to honor outstanding work among members of the Le Moyne College community.  The nomination period occurs in the spring semester. All nomination materials are due Wednesday, August 10, 2022 to the HR Office - Grewen 209C or email to [email protected]

The Ignatian Mission Award: Living the Le Moyne vision acknowledges an employee’s pursuit of the Le Moyne vision “to be a premier Jesuit college where diverse talents meet to foster academic excellence, integrity and a commitment to justice.” St. Ignatius of Loyola, the founder of the Jesuits, believed that education should be driven by the purpose of seeking God in all things, and of promoting God’s kingdom thru the service of men and women. The Ignatian Mission Award is based on an employee’s commitment and support to Le Moyne's vision. All full-time employees are eligible for this award, including faculty, staff and union employees. 

The Annual Magis Award: Spirit of Excellence acknowledges employees’ pursuit of excellence throughout the year. “Magis” translated literally from Latin means “more.” Within the context of our Jesuit heritage, it refers to the value that St. Ignatius of Loyola placed on responding gratefully and generously to God’s goodness by striving for excellence in all that we do, and all that we are. To that end, the Annual Magis Award is based on a performance that exemplifies excellence beyond normal duties: service, leadership or through other professional contributions. All full-time staff and union employees are eligible for this award.

Father William Bosch, S.J. Lifetime Achievement Award: In order to recognize outstanding achievement and service by a deceased, retired or current active member of the Le Moyne College community who has provided “unique and significant” service over his/her lifetime, the college may bestow the Father William Bosch Lifetime Achievement Award annually to one recipient.

  • Eligibility: Any member of the Le Moyne College community who contributes to its success either in the capacity as a faculty member, administrator, staff or volunteer will be eligible for this award.
  • Selection Criteria:
    • ​Demonstrated significant dedication to Le Moyne College by long term and consistent service
    • Provided an exceptional or unique contribution in support of a division, department, or College objectives; member exceeded all expectations in accomplishing their goals or objectives.
    • Demonstrated exceptional leadership over a significant period of time. Displayed a wisdom and depth of leadership that has made a significant difference.
    • Exemplified collegiality working among all members of the Le Moyne Community.
    • Contributes intellectually, socially, and spiritually to a vibrant College community.
    • Strives for excellence in service to others at Le Moyne or the community at large; passion for the Jesuit mission such as community service.
    • His/Her career and life’s work is an embodiment of the Ignatian ideals of excellence in education, humility and servicing the community.
    • Exhibits a sharp focus on seeing (showing others how to see) God in all things, living out our shared faith, and striving for the Magis in scholarship, community, and social action

The nomination committee will evaluate nominations based on employees or retirees who have strongly demonstrated at least two of the above criteria over his/her lifetime at the college.

Thanks and Congratulations

2022 Loyola (40 years of service) Recipient:
  • Dixie Blackley, associate dean of arts & sciences
  • Paul Blackley, professor of economics
  • Inga Barnello, director of the Noreen Reale Falcone library
  • Clifford Donn, professor of anthropology, criminology and sociology
2022 Bene Merenti (20 years or service) Recipients:
  • Tabor Fisher, associate professor of philosophy
  • Wayne Grove, professor of economics
  • Monica Sylvia, associate professor of psychology
  • Jinhu Qian, visiting assistant professor of finance

Magis Award Recipients:

  • Scott Peterson, Athletic Trainer - 2021
  • Royce Robertson, Director of Academic Technology -2021
  • Shaun Black, Senior Director for Information Technology - 2021
  • Beth Scanlon, student success coach - 2019
  • Natasha Farrell, associate registrar - 2018
  • Bennie Williams, director for inclusive excellence & global education - 2018
  • Kenyon Black, director of upward bound - 2017
  • Robert Cook, assistant to the director of the library - 2017
  • Katie Roberts, enrollment-scheduling coordinator - 2016
  • Laurie Skerpon, accounts payable assistant - 2016
  • Dale Wilson, administrative assistant (madden school of business) - 2015
  • Jim Dishaw, senior director of facilities management and planning - 2015
  • Sue Ames, dean of academic advising & support services (retired 7/16) - 2014
  • Cheryl Davies, bursar - 2014
  • Cynthia Alibrandi - senior director - registrar - 2013
  • Allison Farrell - director for academic advising & support services - 2013
  • John O'Brien - director for campus security (retired 2/15); and Lisa Peters - executive assistant - 2012
  • Ann Bersani - title IX student life coordinator - 2012
  • Mark Godleski - assistant dean for student development – 2011

Ignatian Mission Award Recipient:

  • The Jesuit Student Emergency Fund Advisory Board - 2021
    • Jane Elizabeth Brown, Major Gifts Officer
    • Diane Butler, Administrative Assistant 
    • Kathleen Goss, Professor of Practice of Occupational Therapy
    • Martha Grabowski, Ph.D., McDevitt Distinguished Professor of Business
    • KL Lane, Director of HEOP/AHANA
    • R.J. Rapoza, Associate Director Career Advising & Co-Director of the Manresa Program
    • Beth Scanlon, Student Success Coach
    • Susan Scharoun, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Psychology
    • Frank Nash, S.J., Community Chaplain
    • Donald Kirby, S.J., Special Assistant to the President and Rector
  • Francis Nash, S.J., community chaplain – 2019 
  • Jeanne Darby, assistant dean, college of arts and sciences - 2019
  • Jennifer Glancy, Ph.D., professor of religious studies - 2018
  • Anirban Acharya, Ph.D., visiting assistant professor of political science - 2017
  • Shawn Ward, Ph.D., associate professor of psychology - 2016
  • Dan Orne, Ph.D., associate professor of management - 2015
  • Thaddeus Sim, Ph.D., associate professor - McDevitt chair of business - 2014
  • Eileen Ayers, senior clerical assistant - 2013
  • Matt Bassett, assistant vice president and athletics director - 2012
  • Johnnie Hill-Marsh, director for HEPP (retired 6/15)- 2011