The Newhouse Writing Awards honor the best writing by Le Moyne student authors in multiple genres with a prize of $325 each. Each winning title was selected by a judge who is an expert in his/her field, through a blind judging process.

The awards will be formally presented on Tuesday, May 1, in the Reilley Room, 7 p.m., at the beginning of the spring student creative writing reading. At this event a program will provide the judges' names and citations . They had difficult decisions to make and crafted eloquent testimonials for the award-winning works. 

This year’s awards go to:
Creative Non-fiction Award: Kaelin Foody for “A Library of One’s Own”
Play or Film/TV Script Award: Michael Lombardo for “Bugged”

Poetry Award: Jon Roberts for “Confirmation”

Short Fiction Award: Grace Babcock for “The Coffin of Many Colors”
Critical Essay Award: Kaelin Foody for “No Rose Blooms Without Its Thorns: Pinpointing Masochism in Joyce’s Ulysses”

Any Genre Award #1: Chelsea Gordon for her poem “Where I’m From”

Any Genre Award #2: Carly McMichael for her poem “Untitled”

Posted in: Campus News
Actions: E-mail | Permalink |